World Of Warcraft Mists Of Pandaria launch snaps

World Of Warcraft Mists of Pandaria launch

Cafe De Paris gets the Pandarian treatment

Last night Blizzard launched the new World Of Warcraft expansion pack and they were kind enough to invite me down to eat their food, drink their booze and generally make a nuisance of myself with my camera phone! I went about doing just that, while noting down some interesting items and people in my immediate vicinity.

19h15:Noted PR Hero JB at Blizzard is no longer on crutches. His football days are now behind him, but at least he’s walking without steel rods. Noted that the bar has yet to open.

World Of Warcraft Mists Of Pandaria launch

When the timer hits zero, it’s time to buy some Kung Fu Pandas!

19h30:Noted wide screen TVs showing a countdown clock to the expansion pack’s launch.

World Of Warcraft Mists Of Pandaria launch

Woman on stilts wows the people queued up to buy WOW.

19h45: Noted Asian ladies on stilts outside the venue passing by fans who are queued up outside the venues in the rain. Noted the ladies have umbrellas. Smart.

20h00: Noted the bar has opened. Bartender starts pouring out a Blizzard-themed cocktail created just for this event: Pandarian Punch.

World Of Warcraft Mists Of Pandaria launch

Pandarian punch. That’s crap. Gimme a decent drink!

In the interests of journalistic investigation, I take it upon myself to try a glass. And then another just to make sure. And then yet another to reach a definitive verdict. I decide it tastes like J2O with an alcoholic tang. Nowhere near as good as a Sleeping Dog. Time for a beer.

20h15: NotedG McAllister from GameReactor wandering around the event in total paparazzi mode. He snaps the media. Snaps the PRs. Snaps the stage filled with Kung Fu Pandas hurling Harebo at some of the punters Blizzard have allowed in. Then he snaps me. The nerve! I snap him right back.

World Of Warcraft Mists Of Pandaria launch

Gillen McAllister says “I see you!”

Note that G McAllister has cut his long locks into a bob, and now looks like Jesus. Note G McAllister turns some water into wine at the bar and then resumes his pap snapping.

World Of Warcraft Mists Of Pandaria launch

LEGO WOW figures? NO! Building Blox WOW figurines!

20h47:Noted LEGO World Of Warcraft toys. Shake head and clear out the punch of the Pandarian punches. See instead that it’s WOW Boom Blox instead, which is to LEGO as Go-Bots are to Transformers. More Pandarian Punch needed.

World Of Warcraft Mists Of Pandaria launch

The winner of the competition apparently queued up for a week to get his copy

22h55:Note jovial host reveals to the crowd the two fans that have been queued up for this launch for the longest period of time. The person waiting the second longest apparently waited outside the venue for a day and a half. This announcement garners a smattering of applause from the crowd. The person who waited the longest stated that he’d been outside the venue for a week. This announcement is greeted with a stunned silence. I wonder out loud how this person took care of their bodily functions. Am told confidently by a fellow hack that it’s easy to shit in a phone box. Decide against asking fellow hack how they know this. Move away from fellow hack and grab a Pandarian Punch. These things are growing on me.

23h01: Doors to venue fly open and the WOW faithful flood into the venue to grab their expansion pack. I nearly get run over by a Worgen – a friggin’s Worgen!!

World Of Warcraft Mists Of Pandaria launch

A Worgen pitched up to get her copy of Mists. A friggin’ Worgen!

23h31: Decide to head for the hills with my goody-bag! Take one last snap of the fans for posterity.

World Of Warcraft Mists Of Pandaria launch

Fans queue up for some swag!

24h01:Arrive home. Check out the Goody bag! Decide to be magnanimous. Who wants some swag?

World Of Warcraft Mists Of Pandaria launch

Who wants some Mists Of Pandaria swag?

Write below in the comments about why you love WOW and what you’re looking forward to in Kung Fu Panda Mists Of Pandaria and these items could be yours!

This entry was posted in Working day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to World Of Warcraft Mists Of Pandaria launch snaps

  1. I would genuinely like this because MMOs are an area of this wonderful medium that I am shamefully ignorant of, and I reckon this would be a fine entry point, not least because I reckon I could play it with my son.

  2. Bonnie Bishop says:

    I love WOW because its an awesome game! They have perfected everything and made the game play and questing very smooth! The tech support is always lending a hand in a speedy way when ever you need them! I love hanging out with my friends and exploring the game! Endless possibilities! No one would ever guess im a 30 year old single mother of 1! 😛 Thanks WOW for allowing me to live in a fantasy world when I have the time!!!

  3. Well, I’m more than happy for it to go to Bonnie if no one else responds. 🙂

  4. WoW is my comfort game. I’ve returned to it after bad break ups, bereavements, rough times at work, or simply because I’ve got a cold and I’m in need of some comfort gaming to make me forget about my inability to breathe properly. Despite playing it off and on since the closed beta, I only hit the level cap earlier this year so I’m pretty happy to have another one to aim for! Plus I’m looking forward to starting over again and being a panda monk because really, that just sounds stupidly fun to me 😀

Leave a Reply

