Well hello again, Dystopia

Hard Reset

Welcome to Hard Reset. The future is neither bright, nor is it Orange

Today’s bolt from the blue is a game that satisfies my cyberpunk jones so much, I’m flabbergasted I haven’t heard of it before now. It’s impossible to have everything on your radar in the gaming industry. For every ton of triple A titles that you can hardly NOT know about (Gearsofwar3RAGEAssassinscreedrevelationsCODBFthanksforthat!), there are a large number of releases that sneak in under the radar. Did you know that Namco Bandai had cobbled together a package that included Pac-Man, Galaga, Pac-Man Championship Ed and Galaga Legions for the 3DS? No? Neither did I until this week! (And it’s actually rather good, too!)

Still, given how many of my aesthetic boxes Hard Reset ticks, I’m struggling to understand why I’ve never heard of it. I mean, look at this check list:

– A haunting cyberpunk / dark sci-fi setting
Oh hell yes! One of the most underused – and incidentally one of my favourite – genres in gaming.  How much do I love cyberpunk? I read Neuromancer in one sitting in one afternoon. I am replaying Deus Ex: Human Revolution, in spite of the terrible boss battles. I bought Prey off the back of watching the Prey 2 demo. I actually own and will defend the film Johnny Mnemonic. So there!

– Fast-paced, old-school shooter gameplay and hordes of enemies to destroy. Boys with guns. What could possibly go wrong?

– Epic boss fights
As long as the boss battles aren’t terrible wars of attrition like those of another game I could mention (oh, wait, already did!) this bodes well.

– A deep, experience-based weapon upgrade system
Gunsmith, fighter, lover, earner of experience, cooker of food, owner of Kirby. Yep, that’s me…

– High-fidelity graphics with full dynamic lighting
So yeah, everyone says stuff like this. But Hard Reset is being made for the PC, which means they have to satisfy the demands of the PC Gaming nuts, arguably the most picky of all gamers. This means, any developer who talks up their graphics is probably packing quite a bit of visual power.

– Extensive use of physics and dynamic environments
Yeah, yeah. Moving on, look at this trailer:

Hard Reset looks like it has atmosphere to burn. Now check out the gameplay:

All we need now to put me in orbit is a story. Fingers crossed. Oh, and if anyone knows who is doing the PR for this baby, please message me on here or on twitter.

This entry was posted in Working day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

