F3AR family photos

F3AR Shiny stuff

F3AR arrives on my doorstep three days late. It's almost uncanny...

So F.E.A.R. 3 arrived today. Good job I wasn’t reviewing it for anyone because it came out last Friday. Oh dear. This either means it’s an utter melon or the postman needs a smack. I’m hoping it’s the latter because the F3AR multiplayer did look very promising when I played it a while back. Still, the game did come with an interesting piece of Shiny stuff.

F3AR Shiny stuff

A family photo album. I wasn't aware Alma had a family...

Well, here we have a hardback Family photo album. It comes in a tasteful slipcase and is filled with horrible pictures. Like these:

F3AR Shiny stuff

Blood smeared pages. Pictures of manly men. Ooooh, it just chills you to the marrow, don't it?

Well, all right, they aren’t that horrible, are they? Let’s flick through a few more…

F3AR Shiny stuff

Note the photo album tells you that frenetic combat was happening in one picture.

Okay, a little bit more violent but there’s nothing particularly gruesome in here is there? This is starting to remind me a little of F.E.A.R. 2 – a game which I found dull more than scary.

F3AR Shiny stuff

Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww! Nasty.

Now that’s more like it. A disgusting picture to round out the book. But what’s this?

F3AR Shiny stuff

I have two books of horrible pictures. One could be yours, if you scare me...

An extra copy of this thing. Right, I feel in the mood to be generous. If you can recommend a terrifying game that’s available on this generation of consoles that I haven’t played yet – hint: I have played Dead Space 1 and 2 so don’t bother – the second copy of this book is yours. Selection will be totally random and down entirely to me and what answer I like best. Answers below please.

What game for this generation of consoles (or available on Steam) would you say is the most terrifying game you’ve ever played and why?

And F.E.A.R. 2 doesn’t count. Because it’s not scary. Not even in the slightest. And you can take that as truth because it didn’t scare me and I’m a colossal wimp. That is all.

This entry was posted in Shiny stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to F3AR family photos

  1. Papa Sangre and The Nightjar on iOS, or Project Zero 3: The Tormented on PS2 (works on PS3s with backwards compatibility). Plenty of scares there for you.

  2. Matt Rowles says:

    1992’s Waxworks. Battle Lovecraftian plants in a mine, escape a pyramid in ancient egypt, carve up zombies and run like hell through the streets of London when cops think you’re Jack the Ripper. Scared the crap out of me.

  3. Kim L says:

    Oh am I to late? I’s say the original Condemned is my choice, did it scare me? Yes indeed, it totally took me by surprise, I didn’t know it was supposed to be scary, I thought it was a FPS action game (cop games usually are all action). Oh and not to forget the first BioShock game also had a bunch of scary moment, (same as with Condemned, I thought it was all action but man was I wrong:)),

Leave a Reply

