MW3 vs DM

MW3

Ban this sick filth, yells the Daily Mail. Grow the hell up, yells everyone else.

This morning I wanted to be writing a blog post about how awesome the new Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 trailer is. And it is. Awesome. 

If you haven’t seen it yet, check it out here:

See? Awesome! It reminds me of that bit in the terrible GI Joe film where the Joes essentially break Paris. Oh yes, it’s violent, preposterous and silly, but it’s awesome nonetheless, and as such I wanted to go to some lengths describing the warm fuzzy feeling it gave me the moment I watched it. Instead, I now feel the urge to vent my spleen at a world which contains an entity like the Daily Mail, which prints inflammatory rubbish about the gaming industry in order to get traffic on their website.

I’m not linking to the story – really that simply justifies its existence – but in it, The Daily Mail slated MW3 for being very violent and featuring scenes which it said are “7/7 Tube bomb-style attacks”.

This is pretty dubious; first off, I’m not even sure that the phrase “7/7 Tube bomb-style attacks” is grammatically sound. I mean, I know what the author of this piece means, but the phrase itself sounds clunky. It reads more like the name of a Japanese speed-metal band than an actual event in history. Second, I recall the July 7 bombings quite vividly and I don’t remember the perpetrators of the heinous acts of violence on that day ramming a Tube carriage off the rails with a pick-up truck. In fact, I’m not sure there’s a stretch of Tube line under London wide enough to accommodate two vehicles and make such an attack possible. Third, if anyone is using the 7/7 bombings as grist for a commercial mill, it’s the Daily Mail.  And finally, it’s interesting to me that the author of the piece is “Daily Mail Reporter”. This strikes me as the sort of byline generally used by journalists when they don’t wish to use their real name when writing spurious garbage based on what’s trending on Google that day.

Right, now I’m off to watch 24, or as I like to call it, The Jack Bauer Power Hour, a TV series which features terrorist attacks and advocates torturing people for information and which was never target of a proposed ban by the Daily Mail or its readership. Laters!

This entry was posted in And another thing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MW3 vs DM

  1. Nick Weimer says:

    Im grateful for the post.Really looking forward to read more. Really Cool.

Leave a Reply

