And another thing: When you say ‘mature’…

Dead Space 2

Dead Space 2: So frightening that all we can show you is the title and a bit of mechanically augmented spine

Dead Space 2 is set to land on my console this week and I can’t wait. This is because I have more  to go on than the game’s ad campaign.

I played the first two Dead Space games so I know what to expect. I know it will frighten the life out of me. I know I will be reduced to a nervous wreck. I know my other half will hurl abuse at me and ban me from playing it in her presence. She’s also probably going to make me play it after she’s gone to bed, in the dark while using noise-cancelling headphones, which will make it all the more terrifying. And I don’t care.

I’m looking forward to Dead Space 2 the way I would forward to a bungie jump. Or a sky dive. Or the prospect of eating an extremely hot curry. And I know how it will end – with stress, shakes, pain and bodily fluids. I’m still looking forward to it, because I’m a huge fan of the franchise, having played the first two installments. However, if I’d never played a Dead Space title before and the insipid Dead Space 2 “Your Mom Hates This Game” campaign was all I had to go on, I probably wouldn’t be as hyped up for its arrival as I currently am.

Is it just me, or does anyone else think that if you’re the right age to find that commercial appealing, you’re probably too young to be playing Dead Space 2 in the first place? I have to admit t’s a hoot, though. Seriously, every time I hear the “Rated ‘M’ for ‘Mature'” at the end of that thing, it kills me. It’s so funny, I’m almost tempted to believe it’s a brilliant parody of every single lunk-headed, testosterone-fueled videogame advert ever made.  Almost…

This entry was posted in And another thing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And another thing: When you say ‘mature’…

  1. Gil says:

    Funny thing about the commercial is that I’m sure you could replace the DS2 gameplay video clips with any other “mature” rated game clips and it would apply just as well.

Leave a Reply

