Working Day: World ripped in half

 

DeathWing says 'relax'

DeathWing says, "I am coming to eat your life"

There hasn’t been any Game Waste for a while. There are numerous reasons I could give for this…

I could offer some excuses about work and how Christmas presents its own set of problems. This month the gaming PC arrived which meant catching up on some games I should have reviewed earlier this year – and I stupidly started with Starcraft II. At the same time Tron, Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood and some other bibs and bobs arrived. I spiked Tron – and it deserved it – and then spent the next week playing two hour bursts of AC:B (and swearing a lot at Ezio) and then running upstairs and playing SCII (and swearing a lot at anything attacking me). AC:B is done, Tron is being done and SCII is still ongoing – I think you could feasibly play that game until you died of old age.

I could point out that I was in LA last week looking at a game that’s off the record, on the Q.T. and very Hush Hush. While I can’t talk about the game here, I can say that I picked up a cold on the plane over from the UK, from some incredibly badly behaved children. Seriously, as much as we’re all new-wave touchy-feely and down with the new parenting on this site, these kids were the single biggest argument for the return of corporal punishment I’d seen all year. Beyond screaming at their in-flight movies, kicking the chairs in front of them and running up and down the aisles of the plane, these kids had the tendency to roll their eyes and moan every time their poor, overwhelmed mother tried to calm them down. I hate to get all “back in my day” about it, but if I’d behave like that at their age, my mum would’ve put my arse in orbit.

Excuse number three is that my cold developed into full blown flu by the time I’d returned from LA. Not man-flu, by the way. Proper flu. Laid up in bed flu. According to Hoyle flu. Super horrible you don’t move because you feel the pain in your joints may lock your spine up, flu. I was so sick I couldn’t even play video games. That’s some serious flu.

And now I’m well, and the work persists and a Game Waste has been written, but I’m not sure when the next one will be because…

World Of Warcraft Launch

Oh my God! It's full of Stars!

… I was give a World Of Warcraft: Cataclysm limited edition at the launch on Monday. So even if I was filled to bursting with ideas for this blog, chances are, WOW will have eaten all the time needed to write them down.

So it’s off to the broken world of Azeroth I go. In the meantime, here’s a video about the lengths some people will go to in order to get hold of a copy of Cataclysm. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Working day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

